Fumbling with Nostalgia

Today was the first day

I thought about you deeply

That I talked about you.

That I showed compassion.

It’s been over a year, and,

Strangely, I still softened inside

You didn’t care for me at my lowest

You didn’t ask how I was feeling

You didn’t come to my aide,

Definitely not my rescue.

And yet,

And still,

I feel for you.

I pray you find your way to happiness.

I hope you find,

Deep inside,

What you are looking for.

See, I thought I might end your search

And perhaps I did,

But when your eyes are closed

You’ll miss anything,

Especially what’s right in front of you.

Leave a Reply

